So Jen, you’re a certified nutritionist….what you doing with it?

If I had a pound for every time I’ve been asked this question since getting my results in November…did I mention I passed with distinction!

Anyway, to answer that question, yes, I have a piece of paper which means I can now officially help people with all their nutrition needs whatever they may be; losing weight, gaining weight, feeling healthier, guidance on making better choices, busting some of the couple of hundred myths out there by self-proclaimed nutrition experts.

I set up MJM Nutrition last year and have helped a few friends out while I was learning and studying, but now that I’m certified, I feel I am in a better position to take on clients and have capacity for up to 5 clients at the moment.

I work with people not numbers.

I will be mainly online based and everything will be tailored to you and around your busy lifestyle. However, I like to meet people initially for a consultation (which is free) if possible, as it’s important to me to get to know the person I am supporting. It’s also a chance for you to see if you even like me before committing time and money to listening to what I have to say!

I want to give you the tools and knowledge so that you eventually do not need me. I wouldn’t be doing things right if you have to keep coming back to me or stay with me forever. This is why I do not do meal plans. I will not simply say eat these foods for the next however many weeks. I don’t agree with this as it ultimately doesn’t help you in the slightest long-term. You need to learn what works for you and this is what I will help you with.

My aim is to show people that you do not need to suffer in order to reach your goals and by suffer I mean cutting out everything you love and becoming a hermit. It’s time to stop with the extremes and find some balance. Don’t worry I’m not going to get all yogi like on you but it is possible to still have a little bit of what you fancy! Making changes is scary and it will require hard work. There’s no getting away from that.

Yes there will be sacrifices to be made and yes you will feel hungry at times while dieting – anyone who tells you otherwise is not being honest or realistic with you. What I can do is make the process easier with accountability and support, which are more valuable than people realise, along with providing tips to make your calories go a long way without you feeling deprived like most fad diets do.

No foods are off limits either and I won’t make you eat things you don’t like (someone actually said to me they were scared that’s what I was going to do). There seems to be this misconception about nutritionists that we will tell you to stop eating what people consider “unhealthy” foods and will stick you on chicken, rice and fruit and veg. No. Just no. Run a mile if this is ever offered to you as the only option.

There are no unhealthy foods just an unhealthy diet.

It’s so important to understand the difference between the 2.

Diet starts tomorrow right…

If you have any questions or want to know more about one of the 5 spaces, just drop me private message or email me at jen.mcphail@hotmail.com.

So Jen, you’re a certified nutritionist….what you doing with it?

Leave a comment